Honoring service to Duke and beyond

Each year, DAA honors a handful of individuals who embody the spirit of Forever Duke and advance the Duke ideal of knowledge in service to society. These awards give us the opportunity to showcase a few of the extraordinary members of the Duke family and say thanks for their effort and dedication to Duke. All DAA awards are presented during Homecoming weekend each year, except for the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award, which are presented at the annual Founders’ Day convocation. 

Distinguished Alumni Award

The highest honor given exclusively to alumni, the Distinguished Alumni Award is given to alumni who have made outstanding contributions through their field of work, in service to Duke and toward the betterment of humanity.

Make a nomination

2020 Recipient:

Susan Monroe Gordon B.S.’80

Read more

Charles A. Dukes Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service

This award recognizes alumni volunteers who serve in Duke leadership roles and have devoted themselves to extraordinary, long-term efforts that help Duke further its mission.

Make a nomination

2020 Recipients:

Anthony and Mary Barra P’19, P’21
Jack Boyd B.S.’85
Jonathan Chou M.B.A.’99
Carson Dowd Howard A.B.’76, P’06, P’09, P’11 and Jeff Howard A.B.’76, P’06, P’09, P’11
Kim Reed A.B.’86

Read more

Beyond Duke Service and Leadership Award

This award was inaugurated in 2014 to recognize alumni who have distinguished themselves through service to their community, their country or to society at large. Awards are given in three categories: Young Alumni, Local Community and Global Community.

Make a nomination

2020 Recipients:

Nancy Hogshead-Makar A.B.'86, P'23
John Carreyrou A.B.'94
Lori Pierce M.D.'85
Durwood Zaelke J.D.'72
Linda Markee B.S.N.’63 and Joseph Markee M.D.’65
Nana Asante-Smith A.B.’12

Read more past winners

Forever Duke Award

Presented for the first time in 2009, this award recognizes alumni for excellent recent volunteer service to Duke, the DAA and other alumni groups.

Make a nomination

2020 Recipients:

Individual Awardees:
Edith Arrington A.B.’95
Adonica Black A.B.’11
Grace Chang B.S.’97
Caitlyn Clarke M.M.S.’11
Oren Cohen M.D.’87
Echo Hindle-Yang M.B.A.’10
Todd Horst A.B.’91, P’23
Jocelyn Hunter A.B.’84, J.D.’87
Blake Long A.B.’82, M.D.’86, M.B.A.’15, H.S.’92-’92, P’09, P’12, P’14
Amy McKeag A.B.’98, M.B.A.’06
Pamela McLoughlin A.B.’95
Jacqueline Militello A.B.’87
Colleen Ogilvie A.B.’97
Uche Osuji B.S.E.’95, M.B.A.’01
Margo Riddle B.S.’83
Joseph Saldutti B.S.E.E.’88, P’20
Jennifer Saperstein A.B.’05
Kathleen Scheessele M.B.A.’95, P’93, P’97

Group Awardees:    

Group 1: Duke Nashville Regional Volunteers
Mimi Bliss A.B.’88
Rowena Cuffe A.B.’87, M.D.’91, M.H.S.’98, H.S.’91-’94, P’20
Lauren Frazier Rowe A.B.’97
Sarabeth Hearon A.B.’82, P’10

Group 2: Duke Asian Alumni Alliance, New York Regional Co-Chairs
Ya Fang B.S.’17
Leighanne Oh B.S.E.’15, M.S.’17
Jennifer Yam A.B.’14

Group 3: Duke Women’s Soccer Advisory Board
Lisa Fischer B.S.’93           
Molly Germanese A.B.’11, M.M.S.’12         
Elaine Goodman A.B.’91
Bethann Horey B.S.’84, P’18            
Libby Jandl A.B.’13
Ashley Rape A.B.’12          
Avery Rape A.B.’14

Group 4: Paul Quinn College Partnership in Dallas, Texas
Paul Genender A.B.’91, J.D.’94
Nikki Gibson A.B.’80, P’11, P’15, P’17
Andrew Halpern A.B.’80, P’18

Group 5: Alumni Admissions Advisory Committee | Fairfield County, Conn.
Andrew Kirby B.S.E.’80, P’09, P’12
Phil Schaefer A.B.’78

Group 6: Annual Fund Advisory Board Immediate Past Co-Chairs
Katie McClay A.B.’01
Barry Schneirov B.S.E.’85, P’17

Group 7: Duke Houston Regional Co-Chairs
David Piccirilli A.B.’11
Viswa Subbaraman A.B.’98

See past winners


Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award

Sponsored by the DAA for more than three decades, this student-selected award honors a Duke professor who has excelled as a teacher, advisor and leader of undergraduate students.

Bruce Jentleson2019-20 recipient: Bruce W. Jentleson, William Preston Few Professor of Public Policy and Professor of Political Science

Bruce W. Jentleson is William Preston Few Professor of Public Policy and Professor of Political Science at Duke University. He joined the Duke faculty in 2000, and served as Director of the Terry Sanford Institute (now Sanford School) of Public Policy, 2000-2005. He teaches the Public Policy core course on Political Analysis as well as numerous courses on American foreign policy and international relations.

In 2015-16 he was the Henry A. Kissinger Chair in Foreign Policy and International Relations at Library of Congress. He received the 2018 American Political Science Association (APSA) International Security Section Joseph J. Kruzel Award for Distinguished Public Service. In 2020 he was the Desmond Ball Visiting Chair at Australia National University. He also is a Global Fellow at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars and Non-Resident Senior Fellow at Chicago Council on Global Affairs.

Jentleson’s most recent book is The Peacemakers: Leadership Lessons from 20th Century Statesmanship (W.W. Norton, 2018). Among his other publications are five editions of American Foreign Policy: The Dynamics of Choice in the 21st Century, a foreign policy textbook adopted in many American and international universities.

From 2009-11 he was Senior Advisor to the U.S. State Department Policy Planning Director. He also served as a senior foreign policy advisor to Vice President Al Gore in his 2000 presidential campaign, in the Clinton administration State Department (1993-94), and as a foreign policy aide to Senators Gore (1987-88) and Dave Durenberger (1978-79).

He holds a Ph.D. from Cornell University, and was recipient of the APSA’s Harold D. Lasswell Award for his doctoral dissertation.

See past winners

Forever Duke Student Leadership Award

The Forever Duke Student Leadership award is a new award recognizing students who embody the “Forever Duke” spirit in their service to the university.

2020 Forever Duke Student Leadership Award Winners:

Morgan Bird, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Francisco Crespo, Fuqua School of Business
Daniel Gardner, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Rose Graves, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Avani Gupta, The Graduate School
Rashmi Joglekar, The Graduate School
Sam Lester, Pratt School of Engineering
Tinashe Nyanhete, The Graduate School
Shyam Pradheep, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Renee Ragin, The Graduate School
Tim Skapek, Pratt School of Engineering
Lusine Stepanyan,Sanford School of Public Policy
Diamond Zambrano, School of Law
Linda Zhang, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

See past winners