In Brief: July-August 2005


  • Clarence Birkhead, Duke's police chief, left the university June 30 to become chief of police for the town of Hillsborough, North Carolina. Birkhead, who joined the Duke department in 1988 as an officer, worked his way up the ranks from detective sergeant to watch commander to assistant chief. He served as chief of police for the university for seven years.
  • Rittik Chaudhuri '04 was among thirty-eight U.S. winners of this year's Gates Cambridge Scholarship for graduate study at the University of Cambridge in England. He was also selected as an NIH-Cambridge University Scholar--one of the world's premier biomedical research awards--and plans to combine the two awards to complete HIV pathogenesis research and work toward a Ph.D. in biological science at Cambridge.
  • Brigid Hogan, professor and chair of the medical center's cell biology department, and Robert Keohane, James B. Duke Professor of political science, have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. They are among seventy-two new members and eighteen foreign associates elected to the academy "in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research."
  • Three members of the faculty were elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences this year: James Samuel Clark, H.J. Blomquist Professor of biology; Herbert Edelsbrunner, Arts and Sciences Professor of computer science and mathematics; and Thomas Petes, chair of genetics and microbiology at Duke Medical Center.
  • Gerald L. Hassell '73, president of The Bank of New York Company, Inc., has been named chair of the Fuqua School of Business' board of visitors. Hassell, who has served on the Fuqua board since 1999, succeeds Alan D. Schwartz '72, president of Bear, Stearns & Company Inc., who is retiring from the board.
  • Three Duke students have received Students of Color Entering the Teaching Profession fellowships, sponsored by the Rockefeller Brothers Fund. Duke is one of twenty-seven colleges and universities selected to participate in the program, which provides assistance for outstanding students of color to pursue graduate studies and begin teaching in public schools. Fellows receive up to $22,100 over a five-year period that begins after their third year of college and ends when they have completed three years of public-school teaching.
    This year's winners are: Annick Charlot, a junior public-policy-studies major from West Palm Beach, Florida; Marissa L. McDaniel, a junior biological-anthropology and anatomy major from Little Rock, Arkansas; and Jennika Suero, a junior sociology major from the Bronx, New York.
    They follow 2004 fellowship winner Krystal M. Reddick '05, who majored in political science and African and African-American studies. She will enter a two-year master's of education program at Rutgers University this fall.

Share your comments

Have an account?

Sign in to comment

No Account?

Email the editor