In Brief: March-April 2010

  • Stuart Benjamin, Douglas B. Maggs Professor of law, has been appointed the Federal Communications Commission's first Distinguished Scholar in Residence. He is spending the spring semester in Washington, working in the agency's Office of Strategic Planning.
  • L. Gregory Jones M.Div. '85, Ph.D. '88, who has served as dean of the divinity school since 1997, has been named senior adviser for international strategy. Richard Hays, the George Washington Ivey Professor of New Testament at the divinity school, will serve as dean for a two-year term while a national search is conducted for Jones' successor.
  • Mary E. Klotman '76, M.D. '80 was named the chair of the department of medicine. Klotman was chief of the infectious-diseases division at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York for the past thirteen years and also served as codirector of the Global Health and Emerging Pathogens Institute there.
  • Arlie Petters, Benjamin Powell Professor of mathematics, had a street named in his honor in his hometown of Dangriga, Belize. Petters devotes significant time and resources to improving educational opportunities for children in Belize.
  • Four faculty members were elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science in 2009: Daniel J. Lew, professor of pharmacology and cancer biology; Joseph W. St. Geme III, professor and chair of the department of pediatrics; Xiao-Fan Wang, professor of pharmacology and cancer biology; and Mark Wiesner, professor of civil and environmental engineering.
  • The board of trustees approved a master of management in clinical informatics degree to be offered by the Fuqua School of Business in partnership with the Duke Center for Health Informatics. The one-year degree program is expected to enroll students beginning in August 2010, with the first class graduating in May 2011.

Share your comments

Have an account?

Sign in to comment

No Account?

Email the editor