DAA Awards

[Credit: Natalie Sterneckert]


WHO: Sarah Watson ’16

WHAT: Duke Alumni Association’s newest Alumni Endowed Undergraduate Scholar

HOMETOWN: Boerne, Texas

DUKE CONNECTIONS: Father, Clarence Fletcher Watson III ’85

WHY DUKE?: “When I visited campus, it was even better than I imagined it would be. I saw people who were driven and determined, and I found myself wanting to be one of them. I applied and was accepted Early Decision.”

PLANS: Participate in the Focus Program’s “Memory and Invention: Medieval and Renaissance Worlds” cluster; apply to DukeEngage; get involved with Duke Student Government; continue ballet dancing and learn new dance forms; sample Durham’s diverse dining scene; join Campus Crusade for Christ; explore a wide range of extracurricular clubs, groups, and opportunities.

QUOTE: “Duke is such an amazing place that it inspires me to be the best person I can be. I am so excited and so grateful to be a part of it.”



Established in 1982, the award is named after the first director of the Duke Alumni Association, who built his reputation on his volunteer leadership. This year’s winners are:

Ann Pelham '74 [Credit: Les Todd]

Lewis Frederick Sutherland '73 and Barbara Hoover Sutherland '75 [Courtesy Sutherlands]

Ruth Wade Ross '68 [Credit: Les Todd]

Mary H. Dawson '53 [Courtesy Mary H. Dawson]

Jerry C. Wilkinson B.S.E. '67 [Courtesy Mr. Wilkinson]

Bill and Kristi Geary [Courtesy Geary family]


The Forever Duke Award was established in 2009 to recognize alumni who go above and beyond “the call of duty” in service to Duke. This year’s winners are: Meredith W. Allin B.S.E. ’05; Tricia D. McKitty ’92, J.D./LL.M. ’95; Tiffany Montgomery Bishop ’98; Julie E. Ehlers ’85; Stephen K. Breckenridge ’83; Jonathan P. Cardona M.B.A. ’00; Newton C. Taylor LL.B. ’60; Rosie Canizares ’04, D.P.T. ’07; Thomas Brodsky ’73; Nancy Mattwell Hegarty ’83; Paul W. Kim ’97; Gisela Rose- Shortridge ’76; William E. Hunt ’84; Paul M. Honigberg ’77; Kenneth M. Myers ’70; Alyssa Fanelli Benza B.S.E. ’02; Ellen Bers Johnson ’68; Joanne Robertson ’85, M.B.A. ’87; C. Donald Shlimbaum ’70; Sheree Cooper Levy ’89; and Jimmy K. Grewal ’99.

Share your comments

Have an account?

Sign in to comment

No Account?

Email the editor