Honoring service to Duke and beyond

Each year, we honor a handful of individuals who embody the spirit of Forever Duke and advance the Duke ideal of knowledge in service to society. These awards give us the opportunity to showcase a few of the extraordinary members of the Duke family and say thanks for their effort and dedication to Duke. Many Duke Alumni awards are presented during Homecoming weekend each year, except for the following: the Distinguished Alumni Award and the Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award are presented at the annual Founders’ Day convocation, and the Beyond Duke Service and Leadership Awards are presented at Reunion.

Make a nomination for the 2022 Duke Alumni awards. Nominations are open until November 12!

Experience the 2021 Beyond Duke Awards program

2021 Changemaker Award

During an unprecedented 2020, we will recognize and celebrate the exceptional and inspiring efforts of members of the Duke community (students, alumni, faculty, staff, and employees) who implemented positive change in the following three areas:

→ COVID-19: Contributions to healthcare advancements and medical research, treating patients on the frontline and global humanitarian efforts

→ Social Justice: Advancing social justice, anti-racism and the fight against racial inequality

→ Gender Equality: Furthering efforts to realize gender equality and celebrate the full spectrum of humanity.

This award is intended to recognize those who made extraordinary contributions this year in the course of their daily lives but does not replace the Beyond Duke Service and Leadership Award (below). The Changemaker awardees are not necessarily the leaders in their fields. They also can be members of the Duke community who answered the call this year and rose above to serve their communities in extraordinary ways.

Changemaker Award Winners:

Shana S. Abraham '12
Todra L. Anderson '87
Darin Buxbaum B.S.E. '03
Kathryn S. Crutcher '00
Bianca M. Forde '05
Magan Thigpen Gonzales-Smith M.P.P. '14
Matthew Hepburn B.S.E. '92, M.D. '96
Shandiin H. Herrera '19
Michael Johnson '04
Grace C. Kohn B.S.E. '14
Rani E. Kumar M.E.M. '21

Charles A. Dukes Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service

This award recognizes alumni volunteers who serve in Duke leadership roles and have devoted themselves to extraordinary, long-term efforts that help Duke further its mission.

Make a nomination

2021 Recipients:

R. Derek Bandeen '84, M.B.A.'85
D. Michael Bennett '77
Valerie Thompson Broadie J.D.'79
Janice A. Gault '87, M.D.'91
Thomas A. Natelli B.S.E.'82

Beyond Duke Service and Leadership Award

This award was inaugurated in 2014 to recognize alumni who have distinguished themselves through service to their community, their country or to society at large. Awards are given in three categories: Young Alumni, Local Community and Global Community.

Make a nomination

2021 Recipients:

Carla McGuire Davis M.D.'96
Patricia Deza '16
Amy E. Hepburn '97, M.P.P.'01
Lucas T. Metropulos '15
Michael P. Scharf '85, J.D.'88
Howard John Wesley B.S.E.'94

Read more past winners

Forever Duke Award

Presented for the first time in 2009, this award recognizes alumni for excellent recent volunteer service to Duke, Duke Alumni, and other alumni groups.

Make a nomination

2021 Recipients:

Individual Awardees:
Caitlin N. Alcala M.B.A.'17, M.P.P.'17
Danal A. Blessis B.S.E.'82
Lorne V. Bycoff '06
Rosalinda C. Canizares '04, D.P.T.'07
Hosea Chang '03
Megan R. Cheney '10
Jennifer Wong Christensen '96
Megan Tooley Director B.S.E.'08
Heath B. Freeman '02
Stephanie L. Gloster B.S.E.'96
John  Hillen '88
Robyn M. Levy '84
Gregory D. Marzullo M.B.A.'90
Nelson E. Matthews B.S.E.'85
Paige Stribling Morrison '92
Teresa D. Rosenberger '15
Lauren Garson Sanders '07
Marian Brown Sprague '84
Michele Matteo Strauss '01
Clifford J. Zatz J.D. '79

Group Awardees:    

Group 1: Class of 2015 5th Year Reunion Class Chair
Edgar E. Baldridge, IV '15
Nicholas G. Balkissoon '15
Charlie C. Nucci '15
Alexandra E. Cox '15
John M. Dickinson B.S.E.'15
Jordan Dyslin '15
James A. Ferguson '15
Christopher G. Geary '15
Natalie M. Geisler '15
Audrey L. Gibson '15
Arthur R. Gosnell '15
Jacqueline J. Hong '15
Christopher M. Kenny '15
Fred M. Kirby '15
Nicole E. Krantz '15
Gregory Lahood '15
Mollie McVay Laverack '15
Bret S. Lesavoy '15
Ray M. Li '15
William U. McClendon '15
Madison W. Moyle '15
Michael D. Mussafer '15
Max Orenstein B.S.E. '15
Andrew M. Pearson '15
Tre'Ellis T. Scott '15
Hannah G. Stephanz '15
Kahsa Teum '15
Graham G. Vehovec '15
Samuel S. Waters '15
Caroline Conklin Zafirovski '15

Group 2: Forever Duke Trivia Chairs
Stewart Day '11, J.D.'16
Abigail Labella Ph.D.'17
Amy Frees Martinez M.S.'15, Ph.D.'16
Matthew D. Tiberii B.S.E.'15

Group 3: Nic@Nite Planners
James L. Fuechsel '76
Dorothy D. Kee '74

Group 4: Nursing School Volunteers
Brett T. Williams '81
Marianne Tango Williams B.S.N.'81

See past winners


Alumni Distinguished Undergraduate Teaching Award

Sponsored by Duke Alumni Engagement and Development for more than three decades, this student-selected award honors a Duke professor who has excelled as a teacher, advisor and leader of undergraduate students.

Yue Jiang Duke alum class of 122021-2022 Recipient: Yue Jiang, Assistant Professor of the Practice of Statistical Science

Yue Jiang ’12 is Assistant Professor of the Practice of Statistical Science at Duke University. He joined the faculty in January 2020 after finishing his Ph.D. in Biostatistics at the University of North Carolina but has always been a Duke fan at heart, having graduated with degrees in Statistics (B.S.) and Earth and Ocean Sciences (B.A.). His applied research collaborations broadly deal with health outcomes research in gastroenterology and hepatology.

On campus, Yue teaches a number of statistical science courses and also collaborates with the medical school with respect to statistical education and quantitative literacy. He enjoys working with undergraduates in small-group and one-on-one mentored research experiences, and is also involved in various aspects of the undergraduate experience, with a particular interest in issues surrounding academic integrity.

See past winners

Forever Duke Student Leadership Award

The Forever Duke Student Leadership award is a new award recognizing students who embody the “Forever Duke” spirit in their service to the university.

2022 Forever Duke Student Leadership Award Winners:

Martha Aboagye ’22, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Bates Crawford ’22, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Shreyas Hegde M S. ’21 Ph.D. ’21, The Graduate School
Richard Hollenbach III M.S. ’21 Ph.D. ’21, The Graduate School
Cameron Jarnot ’22, Pratt School of Engineering
Eric Juarez A.M. ’21, The Graduate School
Ahmad Khan ’22, Pratt School of Engineering
Caroline Kincaid ’22, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Lyndon Lee ’22, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Philip Liu ’22, Pratt School of Engineering
Meghna Mahadevan ’22, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Nikki Mahendru ’22, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Amaranta Manrique de Lara y Ramirez A.M. ’21, The Graduate School
Katelyn Mehling Ice A.M. ’20, The Graduate School
Karina Moreno Bueno ’21, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Kirsten Overdahl Ph.D. ’21, The Graduate School
Nigel Sapp ’22, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Eden Schumer ’22, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences
Hananiel Setiawan Ph.D. ’22, The Graduate School
Ysanne Spence ’22, Trinity College of Arts and Sciences

See past winners