Alumni Scholars Selected

Alumni Endowed Undergraduate Scholarships, awarded annually since 1979 by the Duke Alumni Association, were presented in August to two children of Duke alumni. Robert Edward Hedrick III and Jadrian J. Miles, members of the Class of 2007, each received a $10,000 stipend, based on merit and financial need. While at Duke, scholars are invited to attend a monthly program of educational, cultural, and social activities.

Hedrick, of Orlando, Florida, is the Roger L. Marshall Scholar, named for Marshall '42, director of Alumni Affairs from 1963 to 1977 and former University Secretary. His father is Robert E. Hedrick '78, A.M. '81.

At Dr. Phillips High School, Hedrick was a member of the National Honor Society, the Latin Honor Society, and the German Honor Society and president of the Latin and German clubs. He was captain of the Quiz Bowl team and organized and tutored students in German and Latin through the YMCA. A guitarist, he has an interest in music, as well as film and film history.

Miles, of Greenville, North Carolina, is the Herbert J. Herring Scholar, named for Herring '22, who was dean of men from 1935 to 1942, dean of Trinity College until 1956, and vice president of student life until retiring in 1964. He is the son of Kenneth Guy Miles '76 of Lowell, Massachusetts.

Before being accepted at the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, he had been a member of the Debate Club and the Science Olympiad at his high school in Pennsylvania. A National Merit Semifinalist at NCSSM, he was its representative in the National Contest in Mathematical Modeling. Aside from math, his interests include computer graphics design, drawing, and writing poetry.

Current Alumni Endowed Undergraduate Scholars at Duke are: Rachel E. Baden '03, Anne W. Garrard Scholar; George M. Freeman '03, Mary Grace Wilson Scholar; Cara E. Weber '03, Frank T. deVyver Scholar; Pamela E. Leech '04, Charles E. Jordan Scholar; Sarah A. McKeown '04, Alan K. Manchester Scholar; Jacob S. Usner '04, Charles A. Dukes Scholar; Myra E. Hiott '05, Richard E. Thigpen Scholar; David A. Lewis '05, Henry Dwire Scholar; and Michele E. Pugh '05, Fannie Mitchell Scholar.


Share your comments

Have an account?

Sign in to comment

No Account?

Email the editor