Awarding Scientists


Duke basic scientists have won four out of five research awards given this year by the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (ASBMB). This near-sweep of the awards exemplifies the research excellence Duke has built in its basic science departments, says medical school dean Sandy Williams M.D. '74.

Receiving awards from ASBMB this spring:

- Gordon Hammes, Distinguished Service Professor of Biochemistry, the William Rose Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to biochemical and molecular biological research and a commitment to training younger scientists.

- Joseph Heitman, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute associate investigator and associate professor in the departments of genetics, pharmacology and cancer biology, microbiology, and medicine, the Amgen Award. The award is presented to a new investigator for significant achievements in applying biochemistry and molecular biology to understanding disease.

- Christian Raetz, chair of the department of biochemistry, the 2002 Avanti Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to lipid research.

- John York, Howard Hughes Medical Institute assistant investigator and assistant professor in the departments of pharmacology and cancer biology, and biochemistry, the Schering-Plough Scientific Achievement Award. The award recognizes outstanding research contributions to biochemistry and molecular biology.

The ASBMB is a nonprofit scientific organization of more than 10,000 members that is devoted to advancing biochemistry and molecular biology. The society publishes scientific journals, organizes scientific meetings, advocates basic research funding and education, and promotes the diversity of new scientists.

Share your comments

Have an account?

Sign in to comment

No Account?

Email the editor