Legends on the Links

All for one: Women's golf team unites in victory

All for one: Women's golf team unites in victory. Golfweek Magazine/Scott A. Miller

For the third consecutive year, the Duke women's golf team won first place in the NCAA National Championship tournament in late May. The last time a team scored a "three-peat" was Arizona State University's run in 1992-95. With this year's win, coach Dan Brooks earns his fifth NCAA championship title, more than any other coach at Duke. (His squad also won the 1999 and 2002 tournaments.)

Competing at the 6,351-yard, par-72 LPGA International Legends Course in Daytona Beach, Florida, the Blue Devils shot a two-over par 290 to finish the tournament with an 18-over score of 1,170, fifteen strokes better than second place Purdue.

Golfweek named Amanda Blumenherst '09 National Player of the Year, and Brooks National Coach of the Year. Five Blue Devils earned either All-America or Honorable Mention All-America accolades, including first-team members Blumenherst and Jennie Lee '09; third-team member Anna Grzebien '07; and honorable-mention recipients Alison Whitaker '10 and Jennifer Pandolfi '08.

Prospects look good for Duke to make history with a fourth consecutive championship title next year. Grzebien is the only team member who graduated. The rest of the national championship squad will return in the fall, along with entering freshman Kim Donovan, Yu Young Lee '10, and Rebecca Kim '10.

Share your comments

Have an account?

Sign in to comment

No Account?

Email the editor